Lido Hotel

image

So I recently stopped off for a bite to eat at this hotel over the easter weekend “the Lido hotel”, it is based in Eikenhof just off swartkoppies, south of Johannesburg.

I haven’t been there since I can remember, took myself down memory lane.I must say they have upgraded the hotel a great deal over the many years. While talking to my Mom and neighbour , to my surprise, they mentioned how their moms went for dances there when they where young adults. I decided to do some research and you won’t believe that the Lido hotel was built in 1930s. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Queen’s visit to South Africa by steam boat.

The “Lido” means “deck of ship”.They have made it a beautiful tranquil venue, hosting weddings, parties, buffet breakfast and lunches, a day spa, conferences and hotel rooms. You can enjoy a relaxing Sunday afternoon outside with family, music is playing, kids swiming and playing on the jumping castle.

From time to time they hold night craft markets with food stalls and a live band. They will be hosting a moonlight market this Friday night 1st April 2016 and how I love craft markets, will be sure to post some pics!!!

Leave a Reply

