Rejection

20170520_074435

by Renani van der Westhuizen

Autumn is my favourite season. I love the brown and yellow colours of the different shapes and sizes of leaves that fall to the ground, like a colourful ocean of waves tossed and turned by the winds.

As the leaves fall one by one to the ground, the trees are left exposed with its lengthy branches sticking to all corners of the sky. We can compare this to that painful feeling of rejection we so often hear knocking on the doors of our hearts.

Rejection makes us vulnerable and leaves us feeling exposed to a pain we can hardly express in words. In my previous article I discussed the topic of disappointments. Rejection, we can say is an extension of disappointments. Whenever we experience some kind of disappointment, rejection almost, always seem to follow next.

Like a tree without leaves, our hearts too can feel exposed to that bitter feeling of loneliness. I grew up feeling rejected. I felt rejected at school and even at times rejected at church. I saw myself as an outsider and couldn’t seem to fit into a world with its high expectations. I always felt like I was not good enough for anyone.

In the years following high school, God took me through a healing process and showed me how much He loved me. God started to work on my identity as a person and I soon realised that being His child meant that I no longer have to be afraid of what others think of me and that I was somebody.

Autumn is a season that not only affects one tree, but many. I am sure that most will agree that sometimes you feel all alone in your unique situation, but the truth is you are never alone. My father passed away when I was only three weeks old, but God has always taken care of me and will never reject those who cry out to Him for help.

Jesus too experienced rejection. Not only was He rejected by many (Luke 4:16-30; John 6:60-71), He still paid the price for our sins. That is true love! We can be confident as children of the most high God that He will comfort us during our tests and trials here on earth as we go through the painful seasons on rejection.

The season of rejection may feel like an eternity, but as autumn passes so does winter and then we enter into spring. A new beginning and a fresh start. Although the seasons come and go, just know that every autumn and every winter prepares you to endure any hardships that come along with the uncomfortable seasons of life. A child of God that has endured tests and trials can be a testimony for someone else going through a difficult time.

We are the body of Christ (1 Corinthians 12:27) and we are commanded to love God and love our neighbours as ourselves (Matthew 22:37-40).

 

 

Leave a Reply

